Blogging from the Highlands of Scotland
'From fanaticism to barbarism is only one step' - Diderot

Sunday 7 December 2008

The club expands - Slovakia will adopt the Euro wef 1JAN09

Slovakia will become the 16th of the current 27 members of the European Union to adopt the Euro as its currency on 1 January 2009. The fixed conversion rate between the Euro (EUR) and the existing Slovak national currency (SKK) is €1 = 30.1260 SKK.

The 15 EU countries currently using the Euro as their currency are: Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Portugal, Slovenia and Spain.

Of the other 11 countries, two (Denmark and the UK) have negotiated opt-outs which mean they have no obligation, ever, to adopt the Euro as their currency if they do not wish to do so. The main Swedish political parties have agreed not to join the Euro until approval in a national referendum is given; a referendum in 2003 rejected adoption so Sweden has chosen not to join ERM II. Full details of each EU member's status vis-a-vis the Euro may be viewed here.

You can see images of the Euro coins being issued by Slovakia to coincide with its adoption of the Euro as its currency here. Euro notes are uniform throughout the Eurozone and show no differences from country to country.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Welcome to my comment area. Whilst all comment is welcome you are requested to respect the views of others. To read full terms for use of this facility, please visit my 'Terms of Use' section, linked to under the 'About this Blog' heading at top right of the blog. Note added 12JUL2010 - All comments will now be pre-moderated before they appear in this blog; this is a measure to prevent 'spam' commenting, which has become frequent of late. Thank you.